31st Annual Iowa Powwow Flyer PDF

2016 Powwow Program Booklet

Welcome! Our Iowa Annual Powwow is a celebration of homecoming and fellowship amongst our Bahkhoje people. It is a way of renewing old friendships and building new ones. The powwow is a celebration of life. It is a full weekend of singing, social dancing, feasting and dance competitions.The powwow is organized by a designated committee where they begin planning many months beforehand to assure all plans and budget expenses are met. The weekend typically begins on a Friday evening starting out with a Grand Entry. This is the time when veterans, chiefs, royalty, and dancers make a grand enterance into the sacred arena. Flags are carried by veterans to honor our fallen, retired, and present veterans. We are welcoming you to come and enjoy a time of new experiences with your family and friends.

For more information, contact Powwow Chairman Linda Bigsoldier @ 405.614.5547 or lbigsoldr@aol.com

*Updates to the flyer may be made accordingly.



Former Iowa Tribal Princess


Brenda Rowe 1978-1979
Crystal Deer 1979-1980
Sandra Taylor-White 1978-1980
Lisa Washington 1980-1981
Gabrielle Sine 1982-1983
Tammy McClellan 1984-1985
Alicia McClellan 1985-1986
Deanna Bigsoldier 1986-1987
Frankie Modlin 1988-1989
Jennifer Alley 1989-1990
Katherine McClellan 1990-1991
Lori Switch 1992-1994
Carrie McClellan 1994-1995
April Carson 1995-1998
Michelle Rice 1997-1998
PJ Modlin 1998-2000
Julia Venegas 2000-2001
Robin McClellan 2001-2002
LaTosha Gains 2002-2003
Robin McClellan and Tiny Tot Alexis Tanyan 2003-2004
Ashlee Jacobsen and Jr. Miss Alexis Tanyan 2004-2005
Annette Gibson and Jr. Miss Shayla Miller 2006-2007
Jessica Lookout, Jr. Miss McKayla Williams, Tiny Tot Alexia Adame 2007-2010
Shayla Miller 2010-2011
Alexis Tanyan 2011-2013
Danelle Springer 2013-2014
Dasia Miller, Little Miss Cyrus Switch 2014-2015
Dasia Miller, Jr. Miss Seannah Miller, Little Miss Cyrus Switch 2015-2016